Home > news, pleasantries > Comment spam becoming an increasing problem for the Scientechie

Comment spam becoming an increasing problem for the Scientechie

As with all growing blogs, Scientechie is beginning to face the problems that come along with being a popular blog. As the number of readers increases, and the exposure on search engines increases, so does the number of spammers who find this blog.

I would hate to enable pre-posting comment moderation. Thus, I will, as of today, begin to experiment with ways of blocking at least a major portion of spammers.

In this, I would request all readers to be patient while the optimization process proceeds, and forgive me for inconvenience that this may cause.

Cheers!

Major Update: I have installed my first anti-spam plugin. Please do me a favour – post a (non-spam) comment, so I can make sure that legitimate comments are getting through. Thanks!

Categories: news, pleasantries Tags:
  1. 22 October 2008 at 2:01 PM

    This is a test comment reply to my own testing post. Others, please also test it out ~ thanks!

  2. 22 October 2008 at 2:08 PM

    Testing… 🙂

  3. AR
    22 October 2008 at 9:37 PM

    test comment by ar :p

  4. Moz
    23 October 2008 at 10:21 AM

    Testing…testing…

    If this thing works, I’d love to borrow it for my own blog as well. 🙂

  5. 23 October 2008 at 10:38 AM

    @ Moz: Apparently, the thing HAS started working. And not in any minor way too. So far, the statistics are: 11 out of 11 spam messages caught, zero false positives; in one day of use.

    I would not like to tell you the exact plugin/method I am using on this public post, but if you are interested, contact me in closed loop via any of the methods listed in my ‘Contact’ page. The link is at the top of this blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

