Home > operating systems > Windows Update crashes system?

Windows Update crashes system?

I just installed the latest patches from Microsoft for my Windows Vista. These included the latest IE7 anti-vulnerability patch and a Windows Defender signature file.

And guess what? They prevented my system from rebooting, causing the computer to blank out at the point where I enter my password. I don’t don’t which one of the two caused this, but I know it was them, because the moment I rolled the two updates back, my system came back online again. I’ve just mailed Microsoft support, let’s see what comes out of that.

In the meantime, be careful of installing either of the two patches.

Update: It was solved by deleting the “Windows Update temporary files” manually. The location of the update files may vary on XP and Vista, use Google to find out about how to delete them for your own system.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

